Multipart/Form-data call with files

Hi Alumio,

I have a use case in which I have a JSON array of images, with header-data (like filename) and the Base64 encoded images themselves. I have to send this to an endpoint which only support multipart/form-data requests (I can send multiple images in one request).

I have limited experience with multipart/form-data requests, by using the ‘plain text’ option of the HTTP Transformer. However, combined with the fact that I’d have to decode the Base64 to binary, I don’t really see that working in this case.

Is there a way to decode Base64 into binary for an array (with unknown amount of nodes) while sending it within a multipart/form-data wrapper?

Thanks in advance!

Two part question, sending data with multipart/form-data is indeed possible with a plain text body like you’ve tried.

Answer from our dev Ashoka

It is already possible if the fields are known beforehand. Then a plain text body can be sent with placeholders. To generate the body automatically a story is on our backlog.

With placeholders:

Content-Disposition: form-data; name="foo"
&{​​​​​​foo}​​​​​​
-----------------------------9051914041544843365972754266--

Then add header:

Content-Type: multipart/form-data; boundary=---------------------------9051914041544843365972754266

The second part is serializing Base64 to Binary.
I know it’s possible to parse to Binary, but am unsure about serializing.

The thing is that most likely converting the string to binary won’t work anyway.
And it’ll need to create the ‘image’ like a blob and convert that data to binary.
@Alumio_support any options on converting base64 image data to binary image data?

Hi @anon99371720 @floris

We just checked that we have a Binary serializer. However, we are currently trying to make it works with an HTTP transformer to submit a file using the multipart/form-data content type. We will get back to you once we figured it out.

Hi @floris @anon99371720